Pecan and Orange Marmalade Pie

My mom’s birthday is tomorrow, so I’ve been scouring the different web pages searching for the perfect recipe. I think I found it. I mean, I hope so because it is already baking in the oven.  I adapted the recipe from Dolcetto Confections

Prepare the dough first. It’s a simple crostata dough so don’t freak out.  Flour, sugar, cinnamon, like so:

:

Add the butter and eggs. Knead it or whatever you want to do with the dough (nothing kinky, though) and if you want put it in the fridge to rest. I’m incredibly impatient so I wanted to bake it already.

Weigh the dough down. If you are lucky and have dried beans (I never do) use them, otherwise do like poor little old me and put a smaller pan wrapped in aluminum on top of the dough. It works like a charm.

Now you can toast the pecans.

Put them in the blender with the flour and grind them. Add them to the butter, the sugar, the eggs and the orange zest. Mix it well.

While I was doing all this, I had my snake Topkapi watching me from the kitchen table, wondering what the hell I was up to.

regardless of reptilian attitude, I pressed on, fearless in my effort. When the pie shell came out of the oven, after about 20 minutes, I prepared the layer of jam. I took the jam and a tbsp. of water and heated it up. When that was done I added a splash of rum, because, well, it’s alcohol.

And layer it on the half-baked pie.

Pour the pecan layer and place it to bake.

Ingredients
Pasta Frolla [Note: this recipe will yield enough dough for 2 8-inch tarts]
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup minus 1 tablespoon superfine sugar
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch of table salt
8 tablespoons (1 stick) cold, unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 large egg yolk, lightly beaten
Pecan-Orange Frangipane
1 cup coarsely chopped pecans, toasted
1 1/2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons sugar
9 tablespoons (1 stick plus 1 tablespoon) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg
1 large egg white
1 1/2 teaspoon orange zest
Jam
1 cup orange marmalade
1 tbsp. rum
Leave a Reply

