Coconut Cake

My mom requested this morsel. Well, she requested something with coconut and although I scoured the web I found no recipe that satisfied me. So I turned to an old book that was my mom’s and which I occasionally use. It’s in Spanish, and to show you I’m not lying about its state of wear, here is a picture.

 

First mix the butter with the sugar. Add the eggs and stir well. I wanted to add some pecans even though the recipe does not call for them, so I set them to marinate in alcohol. I used grappa because it’s what I had at hand.

When you have all that set up, start putting the dry ingredients together. Oh, by the way, that’s the book I’m reading there in the following picture. It’s a non-fiction book about the band that played while the Titanic sank.

Alternate the flour mixture with the milk. Add the nuts and the coconut and set to bake.

Recipe

  • 1/2 cups plus 2 tbsp.
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar plus 2 tbsp.
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 1/4 cups flour
  • 3 tsps. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 1/2 tsps. coconut extract
  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 3/4 cup shredded coconut

Mix butter and sugar until well blended. Add eggs. Place the nuts to soak in alcohol of choice or juice. Mix flour, salt, baking powder together and add alternating with the milk/coconut extract mix. Add the nuts and the coconut. Bake at 350 F. for 35 minutes.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Delicious party for one.. « Bluedolly25's Blog

Leave a Reply

